Jazzunique Escapes: Slovenia

Slovenia

The beautiful stranger

Escapes Slovenien

February 15, 2017 – Strikingly beautiful, multi-faceted, appealing and delightful – it sounds like a description of the perfect girlfriend, but it also sums up Slovenia pretty well. Far too many people see the country just as a staging post for getting to Croatia. But Slovenia offers pristine turquoise lakes and rivers, along with unspoilt forests. The capital, Ljubljana, is a riot of beautiful Baroque and Jugendstil buildings, along with charming little houses boasting exquisitely detailed façades and playfully ornamental columns – but even so this city of 276,000 inhabitants remains down to earth at all times, and has no kind of pretensions. The river Ljubljanica flows through it – a blue vein carrying the city’s lifeblood, with an abundance of romantic little bridges.

But it isn’t just in the city that you can find something to discover on every corner. It’s only an hour and a half from here to the Julian Alps, Lakes Bled and Bohinj and the river Soca, offering ideal facilities for teambuilding activities like river rafting. And if you go the same distance in the opposite direction you hit the Adriatic, with its appealing Mediterranean flavour. There’s everything you need for unforgettable incentive trips.

Metelkova: from military base to walk-in work of art

Metelkova is a total artwork covering 12,500 square metres. Creative and uncompromising, the cultural centre is just ten minutes on foot from the main railway station. Here no wall looks the way it did before – everything is painted over, carries stickers, has been sprayed or decorated in mosaic, and colourful umbrellas function as lamps. Creative chaos is the order of the day – by contrast with the general tidiness of the Slovenian capital. The former prison is now a hostel – the cells offering exhibition areas for various artists, each of them a unique creative world in its own right. This crazy place is ideal if you want to look for inspiration, or get your team to see things in a different perspective. 

Escapes Slovenien
Escapes Slovenien

Food market

Who needs an annual street  food festival? In Ljubljana you can have it every Friday from March to October! Live, under the eyes of visitors, chefs prepare countless Slovenian and international special dishes and are happy to recount their own personal food story. Music and atmosphere are provided by various street artists. It’s great fun when you are with a group, and you will be invited to sample more!

Na zdravje! Cheers!

Slovenia’s wine culture goes back to Roman times. If you find that hard to imagine, the proof awaits. The quality of Slovenian wines is altogether comparable with that of wines from France and Italy – a paradise for all who value a good tipple. The Cabernet  Sauvignon from the village of Smarje has actually been served at the Oscars in LA. So when you are in Slovenia, a wine tasting experience in beautiful surroundings is practically a must!

Escapes Slovenien Wein
Escapes Slovenien See

See Bled

If you want to get out of the city into burgeoning nature, Lake Bled in the north of the country, at the foot of the Slovenian Alps, is the ideal oasis destination for any Slovenian incentive trip. The warmest lake in the Alps, it offers an impressive panorama of turquoise waters. The island of Blejski Otok in the middle of the lake is the only island in Slovenia, with a pilgrimage church. On the banks of the lake you will also find the majestic former residence of the famous Yugoslavian head of state, Marshal Tito. Today it harbours a café and a hotel, so you can soak up socialist propaganda and the charm of the socialist bourgeoisie at the same time.

Time zone:

Central European Time (CET)

How to get there:

Airports all over Germany offer several direct flights to Ljubljana daily with highly regarded airlines. The average flight time is one to one and a half hours.

Currency:

Euro (€)

Visa requirements:

German nationals only need a passport or ID card to enter the country. Further information…

Vander Urbani Resort

Our hotel tip

In general Slovenia can show an excellent range of hotels. Ljubljana above all offers numerous possibilities for accommodating groups of all sizes. The Vander Urbani Resort is a must for design aficionados. With its 20 rooms, the boutique hotel is pre-eminently suited to smaller groups. The architecture, design and painstakingly restored building all make a superlative impression on the visitor. Our favourite spot in the hotel is the small but perfectly formed pool on the roof, with a view of the castle and the roofs of the old town.

September 2017 will see the opening of a new Intercontinental Hotel in Ljubljana. Situated in the centre of the city, it is an ideal starting point for urban exploration. With a total of 165 rooms and a ballroom that can accommodate over 300 persons, this is the perfect venue for larger groups. A special highlight will be the à la carte restaurant on the 20th floor, offering unique panoramic views over the city!

Escapes Slovenien Hotel Vander
Escapes Slovenien Hotel Vander
Escapes Slovenien Hotel Vander

Jazzunique Escapes: Slowenien

Slowenien

Die schöne Unbekannte

Slowenien Escapes Panorama

15. Feb. 2017 – Facettenreich, wunderschön, sympathisch und genussvoll – das beschreibt nicht nur die perfekte Partnerin, sondern auch Slowenien ziemlich genau. Viel zu oft wird das Land nur zur Durchreise nach Kroatien genutzt. Türkisblaue Seen und Flüsse treffen hier auf unberührte Wälder. In der Hauptstadt Ljubljana tummeln sich wunderschöne Barock- und Jugendstilbauten und charmante kleine Häuschen mit detailverliebten Fassaden und verspielten Säulen – trotzdem bleibt die Stadt mit 276.000 Einwohnern stets bodenständig und niemals abgehoben. Durch die Stadt fließt die Ljubljanica – die blaue Ader, die von vielen romantischen kleinen Brücken überquert wird.

Doch nicht nur in der Stadt selbst gibt es an jeder Ecke etwas zu entdecken: Von hier aus ist man in nur eineinhalb Stunden in den Julischen Alpen, an den Bergseen Bled und Bohinj oder dem Soca River, der zu Teambuilding Aktionen, wie River Rafting, einlädt. Bewegt man sich etwa die gleiche Zeit lang in die andere Richtung wartet dort die Adria mit mediterranem Flair. Die optimale Vielfalt für unvergessliche Incentives.

Metelkova: vom Militärgelände zum begehbaren Kunstwerk

Ein 12.500 m² großes Gesamtkunstwerk ist Metelkova. Unangepasst und kreativ ist das nur zehn Gehminuten vom Hauptbahnhof entfernte Kulturzentrum. Hier ist keine Wand, wie sie mal war – alles ist bemalt, beklebt, besprayt, mit Mosaik verziert, bunte Regenschirme dienen als Lampen. Es herrscht kreatives Chaos – ein Kontrast zur sonst so geordneten Hauptstadt Sloweniens. Das ehemalige Gefängnis ist heute ein Hostel – die Zellen sind Ausstellungsflächen für verschiedene Künstler – jede einzelne eine eigene Kreativwelt. Dieser verrückte Ort eignet sich hervorragend zur Inspirationssuche und um im Team einen Blick über den Tellerrand zu werfen.

Escapes Slovenien
Escapes Slovenien

Foodmarket

Wer braucht schon ein jährliches Steetfood-Festival? In Ljubljana gibt es das von März bis Oktober jeden Freitag. Live vor den Augen der Besucher bereiten die Köche unzählige slowenische und internationale Spezialitäten zu und erzählen dazu gerne ihre persönliche Food-Story. Für die richtige Atmosphäre sorgen Musik und Unterhaltung von wechselnden Straßenkünstlern. In Gruppe macht’s besonders viel Spaß und es kann mehr probiert werden!

Na zdravje! Zum Wohl!

Die Weinkultur in Slowenien reicht bis in die römische Zeit zurück. Wer sich das nicht vorstellen kann, sollte sich selbst überzeugen. Die Qualität der slowenischen Weine ist durchaus vergleichbar mit denen aus Italien und Frankreich – ein Paradies für alle, die gute Weine schätzen. Der Cabarnet Sauvignon aus der Gemeinde Smarje wurde sogar schon bei den Oscars in LA ausgeschenkt. Eine Weinprobe in traumhafter Kulisse ist in Slowenien also quasi ein absolutes Muss!

Escapes Slovenien Wein
Escapes Slovenien See

See Bled

Raus aus der Stadt und hinein in die pralle Natur. Die Ruheoase eines jeden Slowenien-Incentives: Der See Bled im Norden des Landes, am Fuße der slowenischen Alpen. Der wärmste See der Alpen bietet ein beeindruckendes Panorama mit türkisblauem Wasser. Die Insel Blejski Otok inmitten des Wassers ist die einzige Insel Sloweniens und beherbergt eine Wallfahrtskirche. Am Seeufer tront auch die ehemalige Residenz des berühmten jugoslawischen Staatschefs Tito – heute findet man hier Café und Hotel und kann sozialistische Propaganda und den Charme der sozialistischen Bourgeoise auf sich wirken lassen.

Zeit:

Central European Time / Mitteleuropäische Zeit (CET/MEZ)

Anreise:

Deutschlandweit mehrmals täglich direkte Verbindungen mit renommierten Fluggesellschaften nach Ljubljana. Die durchschnittliche Flugzeit beträgt zwischen 1 und 1,5 Stunden.

Währung:

Euro (€)

Einreisebestimmungen:

Für die Einreise deutscher Staatsangehöriger ist ein Personalausweis ausreichend. Weitere Infos

Vander Urbani Resort

Unser Hoteltipp

Im allgemeinen verfügt Slowenien über eine sehr gute Hotellerie. Vor allem Ljubljana bietet zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, um Gruppen verschiedenster Größenordnung bestens unterzubringen. Ein Muss für Design-Liebhaber ist das Vander Urbani Resort. Mit seinen 20 Zimmern eignet sich das Boutiquehotel vor allem für kleinere Gruppen. Architektur, Design und die mühevoll restaurierte Bausubstanz sind hier eindrucksvoll in Szene gesetzt. Unser Lieblingsort im Hotel: der kleine, aber feine Pool auf dem Dach, mit Blick auf die Burg und die Dächer der Altstadt.

Im September 2017 wird in Ljubljana auch ein neues Intercontinental Hotel eröffnet. Mitten in der Stadt gelegen, ist es der ideale Ausgangspunkt, um die Stadt zu erkunden. Die insgesamt 165 Zimmer und der Ballsaal für über 300 Personen bilden den perfekten Rahmen auch für größere Gruppen. Ein besonderes Highlight ist das À la Carte-Restaurant im 20. Stock mit seinem einzigartigen Panorama-Blick über die Stadt!

Escapes Slovenien Hotel Vander
Escapes Slovenien Hotel Vander
Escapes Slovenien Hotel Vander