Ground-breaking ceremony on the floral island

Ground-breaking ceremony on the floral island

New visitors’ pavilion for the island of Siebenbergen

April 26, 2018 – The island of Siebenbergen is frequently described as ‘the loveliest floral island in Hessen’. It is hoped that the new visitors’ pavilion of the green museum of Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel [the Association of Hessen and Kassel Museums] will live up to this reputation. In partnership with haake architektur and MOST gartenlandschaften [MOST garden landscapes], Jazzunique was successful against several contenders in the competition to design the approach to the island. The challenge of the competition consisted in designing a new entrance area, along with a small shop, cash till and catering and service facilities.

With Hessen Minister of Art and Science, Boris Rhein, in attendance, the ground-breaking ceremony to initiate the realisation of the project took place on 21 April. The resulting structure is a bright, lightweight pavilion which – partly inspired by the place and its natural resources, along with the curving bridge – evokes the architecture of the nineteen-fifties, while stylishly adapting it to the standards of today. The interior of the building includes seating and a café, a service point, cash till and a shop.

Natural materials constantly link the island and its nature with the interior of the new visitor centre. Facing the water, a small roofed terrace has been created. The new architecture thus deliberately creates a space where visitors can feel they have arrived and choose to linger. The approach to the bridge becomes the exit and terminal of a discovery outing to the island of Siebenbergen, and in future will unite all functions at a single point.

Photographic credits: Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel, Photographer: Lothar Koch

Spatenstich auf der Blumeninsel

Spatenstich auf der Blumeninsel

Neuer Besucherpavillon für die Insel Siebenbergen

26. April 2018 – Als „schönste Blumeninsel Hessens“ wird die Insel Siebenbergen häufig bezeichnet. Diesem Ruf soll auch der neue Besucherpavillon des grünen Museums der Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel gerecht werden. In Kooperation mit haake architektur und MOST gartenlandschaften setzte sich Jazzunique beim Wettbewerb zum Entwurf des zukünftigen Eingangsbereichs der Insel gegen mehrere Mitbewerber durch. Die Aufgabe des Wettbewerbs bestand in der Neugestaltung des Eingangsbereiches zur Insel mit einem kleinen Shop, einem Kassenbereich und einem Gastronomie- und Serviceangebot.

Gemeinsam mit dem hessischen Minister für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Boris Rhein, wurde mit dem feierlichen Spatenstich am 21. April nun auch die Umsetzung eingeleitet. Der entstehende Baukörper ist ein heller, leichter Pavillon, der sich – inspiriert durch den Ort und seine Natur sowie die geschwungene Brücke – an der Architektur der 50er Jahre orientiert und diese stilvoll ins Heute überträgt. Im Innenraum des Gebäudes befinden sich Sitzmöglichkeiten und ein Café, ein Servicepoint sowie Kasse und Shopbereich.

Natürliche Materialien verbinden dabei stets die Natur der Insel mit dem Innenbereich des neu geschaffenen Besucherzentrums. Zum Wasser hin entsteht eine kleine überdachte Terrasse. Die neue Architektur schafft so einen bewussten Ort zum Ankommen und Verweilen. Der Vorplatz der Brücke wird zum Ausgangs- und Endpunkt der Entdeckungsreise auf die Insel Siebenbergen, der zukünftig alle Funktionen an einer Stelle bündelt.

Fotoquelle: Museumslandschaft Hessen Kassel, Fotograf: Lothar Koch